Josep Pedreira Collection

Fons Personal
Humanities Library

Josep Pedreira (Barcelona, 1917-2003) created the collection of Catalan poetry Els Llibres de l'Óssa Menor dedicated to publishing books by Salvador Espriu, Miquel Martí i Pol, Joan Oliver, Carles Riba and Joan Vinyoli, among others. In 1950, Pedreira created the Óssa Menor Poetry Prize, which, after 1959, was renamed Carles Riba Prize. That same year, Pedreira began the collection Les quatre estacions, poetry and essay, publishing books by Gabriel Ferrater, Marià Manent, Josep Palau i Fabre and Francesc Parcerisas. He published the the book of poems El llibre dels verns (1985) and the book of memories Soldats catalans a la Roja i Negra (1936-1939), about his experiences in the front (2003).

The heirs of Josep Pedreira donated the collection to the Jordi Arbonès Chair and it is deposited at the Humanities Library.

The collection has been cataloged thanks to the collaboration between the Library and the Department of Catalan.

Description of the collection: The collection comprises part of the personal and professional documentation of Josep Pedreira. It consists basically of manuscripts of his work, as well as professional documentation in relation to the Publisher series Els Llibres de l'Óssa Menor and to the authors who published there. It has a total of 2567 documents, 1481 of which are letters.

Limit dates: 1917-2003

Date of incorporation: 2014

Depository library: Humanities Library

Where to consult the

Rights: The user agrees to use this documentation only for research purposes, to cite the origin for public dissemination, and to deliver any resulting work to the Library. The consultation or reproduction of the documents does not imply any intellectual property rights in the document’s content. Any use contrary to the law and to the corresponding rights will be the responsibility of the user.