Winner of the UAB's 4 Minute Thesis participated in the FCRI final

InÚs Villarroya

The winner of the UAB 4 Minute Thesis competition was Inés Villarroya. On 25 June she represented the UAB at the competition final organised by the Catalona Research and Innovation Foundation, in which all other Catalan universities participated. The event was streamed live.


Inés Villarroya won the UAB 4 Minute Thesis competition, with a cash prize of 800 euros, for her thesis entitled: "Prevalença, troballes endocrines i evolució de l'hipoparatiroïdisme posterior a tiroïdectomia total" ["Prevalence, endocrine discoveries and evolution of hypothyroidism posterior to total thyroidectomy"]. The winner participated in representation of the UAB at the competition final "Presenta la teva tesi en 4 minuts", which took place on 25 June in an event which can be viewed online through the Catalan Research and Innovation Foundation (FCRI). The competition, organised by the FCRI, included the participation of all Catalan universities and cash prize for the three finalists were €3,000, €2,000 and €1,000.

The jury prize, which included a cash prize of 500 euros, went to Xavier Villanueva, with his thesis entitled: "Els rols de la 'International Association for the Study of Popular Music' (IASPM) en el procés d'institucionalització dels estudis en música popular" ["The roles of the 'International Association for the Study of Popular Music'"]. Andrea González won the public's choice award for her presentation of "Judaisme i conflicte a l'Espanya de el segle XVI: la censura de la República Hebrea de Jerónimo Román i Zamora (edició i estudi de el text)" ["Judaism and conflict in 16th century Spain: the Hebrew Republic's censorship of Jerónimo Román y Zamora (text edition and study)"].

The competition was held online using Microsoft Teams and included the participation of twelve PhD students. In addition to the winners, other participants presenting their theses were Paula Gabriel, David Juan Fernández, Marta Marín, Konrad Eiler, Elena Ferrer, Alicia Fernández, Xavier Duran, Emiliano Lucas and Tatiana Lopez.

Video of the "Tesi en 4 minuts" competition on YouTube


Related news

View all news