Official Master's Degree in Social and Cultural Anthropology CREOLE


The master's degree in Social and Cultural Anthropology: Cultural Differences and Transnational Processes (CREOLE) is the first Joint-Master Degree in Social and Cultural Anthropology with a European dimension.
This two-year master's programme is the result of the collaboration of the anthropology departments of six universities: Universität Wien, -Austria-; the National University of Ireland-Maynooth, -Ireland-; the Stockholms Universitet, -Sweden-; the Université Lumière Lyon 2, -France-; the Univerza v Ljubljani, -Slovenia-; and the UAB, -Spain-. The coordinating university is the University of Vienna, which hosts the master's web page ( Other European universities are expected to join the consortium in the coming years.
This master's degree is designed for students wishing to specialize in transnational processes, cultural difference, and new forms of identity.
Important things to consider:
1) The programme requires mobility and attendance in person (it is not an “Online” master's degree).
2) The pre-registration period for this master's degree at UAB is from March 1 to June 30, issuing admissions resolution in July, and enrolling and starting on the first week of September. Students whose host university is the UAB, must attend in person starting from the first week of September at the UAB for the beginning of the master's degree (Preparatory Course).
3) The subjects of this master's degree at the UAB are taught in Spanish, although students may submit their essays in English.
Students coming from abroad may contact the following general information points (practical information, accommodation, etc.):
UAB Information Point:
International Welcome Point (IWP):

Further information regarding application procedures, payment, etc., please contact:

Dan Rodríguez-García

Teaching timetable


36 places (5 at the UAB)
Credits: 120 ECTS
Beginning of the pre-enrolment period 11/02/2019
See the calendar
Pre-enrolment closed
Price: €46.11 per credit (EU citizens and non-EU holding a Spanish residence permit). 2019/20 Academic year.
€66 per credit (non-EU citizens who do not hold a Spanish residence permit). 2019/20 Academic year.
Course begins on 01/10/2019
Faculty: Faculty of Arts and Humanities
Language: Spanish (50%) and English (50%)
Coordinator university: Universität Wien (Austria)
Other participating universities:

Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
Université Lumière Lyon 2 (France)
National University of Ireland Maynooth (Ireland)
Univerza v Ljubljani (Slovenia)
Uniwersytet im.Adama Mickiewicza Pozanan (Poland)
Universität Bern (Switzerland)

Contact us for more information, filling in this form: *Required fields

Once the form has been sent in you will get a confirmation e-mail

Master's degree website