Jornades Doctorals 2021


May 26th – 28th, 2021


It is our great pleasure to welcome you to the X Edition of the Doctoral Workshop of the PhD program in Chemistry that is organized by the UAB’s Department of Chemistry. This event aims to strengthen the links between the research groups involved in the PhD program, with the ultimate goal of promoting interdisciplinary and more ambitious research projects and facilitating the exchange of research experiences and new ideas in the fields of entrepreneurship and small business.

During the event, 34 students on their third and fourth year will have to opportunity the present and discuss their research work and interact to each other, and receive feedback from more experienced researchers.

Besides the participation of doctoral student, the Doctoral Workshop will also include an exciting series of plenary lectures by international experts of both academia and industry.

This year’s edition will combine online and presential talks. PhD students’ oral presentation will take place at the Auditorium (Sala d’Actes) of the Faculty of Sciences while plenary lectures will be online at the Auditorium as well. Poster exhibition and poster meetings will be online.

Doctoral students are required to attend lectures and oral presentations in person (signature control), but online acces will be also available via MS Teams.

The event is open to all the members of the PhD program in Chemistry and related programs, as well as other members of the research community.

We look forward to your participation in this event.

The Organizing Committee



Prof. Dr. Joost N. H. Reek, Full Professor, Van t Hoff Institute for Molecular Sciences

Joost N. H. ReekJoost Reek received his PhD in 1996 at University of Nijmegen. His research was done in the group of Prof. R.J.M. Nolte, were he acquired expertise in the field of supramolecular chemistry and synthesis. He is co-founder of  InCatT (innovative catalyst technologies), a spin-off company that was launched in 2009, and since 2016 he is the scientific director of NIOK. In 2013 he was elected as a new member of the Royal Holland Society of Sciences and Humanities (KHMW), and in 2015 he was elected member of the KNAW (Royal Dutch academy of sciences). With over 350 scientific papers published on different topics, mostly related to catalysis, he has reached a H-index of 74. The research performed in the past 20 years is broadly centered around homogenous catalysis and supramolecular chemistry. He develop new catalytic processes based on 1) rational ligand design in transition metal catalysis 2) Supramolecular catalysis 3) Bio-inspired catalysis. In the past 10 years, part of the research has been focused on solar to fuel devices based on molecular components..

Dr. Silvia Cerezo Gálvez, Senior Science Fellow at Bayer CropScience / Bayer AG

Silvia CerezoSilvia Cerezo Gálvez developed her thesis project within the UAB’s Department of Chemistry research group of Dr. M. Moreno-Mañas, Dr. Roser Pleixats and Dr. Adelina Vallribera, with focus on organometallic chemistry: Pd(0)-catalyzed reactions and macrocyclic ligands. She obtained the PhD degree with honors in 2000 and started her professional career as postdoc in medicinal chemistry in the pharmaceutical industry in Germany. Between 2001 and 2002, she occupied postdoc possitions at Bayer and Zentaris GmnbH. Then, she joined Graffinity Pharmaceutical AG (2002-2004) as lab leader in Medicinal Chemistry. Since 2004 Silvia Cerezo is part of the research staff at Bayer CropScience, (Bayer AG) and has developed several projects: from 2004 to 2009 as Lab leader in Discover Chemistry, Crop Protection Research; from 2009 to 2017 as Lab Leader in Pest Control Chemistry R&D Small Molecules; and since 2018, as Lab Leader in Bioavailability/Foliar Products. She is senior science fellow since 2019.

Dr. Maria Escudero, assistant professor at University of Copenhagen 

Maria EscuderoMaría Escudero Escribano is an Associate Professor of Chemistry at the University of Copenhagen, where her group investigates tailored electrochemical interfaces for renewable energy conversion and electrosynthesis of green fuels and value-added chemicals. She obtained her PhD from the Autonomous University of Madrid in 2011. She carried out her postdoctoral research at the Technical University of Denmark and Stanford University (US), before moving to the University of Copenhagen in 2017. María is Chair of the Danish Electrochemical Society since 2018. She was awarded a Villum Young Investigator Grant from the Villum Foundation (2018-2023). María’s work has resulted in 52 publications in peer-reviewed journals and three patents. She is Editorial Board Member of Communications Chemistry and ChemElectroChem, and Editorial Advisory Board Member of Advanced Energy and Sustainability Research. María has received numerous prestigious including the European Young Chemist Award (Gold Medal) 2016, the Princess of Girona Foundation Scientific Research Award 2018, the Electrochemical Society Energy Technology Division Supramaniam Srinivasan Young Investigator Award 2018, the Spanish Royal Society of Chemistry Young Researchers Award 2019, and the Clara Immerwahr Award 2019.

Full program, book of abstracts and poster session at: 

With the collaboration of the "Societat Catalana de Química" (SCQ) and the "Real Sociedad Española Española de Química" (RSEQ).

      rseq         rseqcat             scq
Doctorats UAB Escola de Doctorat UAB


SGIQ de l'Escola de Doctorat Sistema de Garantia Interna de Qualitat


Ajuts, Beques i Convocatòries Obre el cercador i perfila la teva cerca!



Departament de Química
Edifici C, Facultat de Ciències
08193 - Cerdanyola del Vallès
TEL: +34 93 581 19 97





2023 Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona