The UAB Promoting knowledge, encouraging innovation

City councils

Municipalities belonging to the UAB-CIE Sphere

The UAB-CIE Sphere is known for creating highly fruitful relations between neighbouring municipalities. In addition to Barcelona and Badalona, the strategic positioning of the project plays a prominent role in the cities of Cerdanyola del Vallès, Sant Cugat del Vallès, Sant Quirze del Vallès, Sabadell, Terrassa, Rubí, Badia del Vallès, Barberà del Vallès and Ripollet, with a total population of over 735,000 inhabitants. The cities are key to the impulse, development and economic growth of the region.

This interrelation can be seen clearly in several areas. Synergies have been created between the business fabric and departments, institutes and research centres. To enhance the attraction of talent, new training programmes, services, cultural and sports facilities have been created. The surrounding municipalities offer a wide range of economic, educational, social and cultural activities which, in addition to the university, provide significant added value to the are as a whole.

List of the municipalities belonging to the UAB-CIE Sphere

  • Badalona City Council
  • Badia Municipality
  • Barberà City Council
  • Barcelona City Council
  • Cerdanyola City Council
  • Ripollet City Council
  • Rubí City Council
  • Sabadell City Council
  • Sant Cugat City Council
  • Sant Quirze City Council
  • Terrassa City Council